When you open your YouTube, you may discover that YouTube always recommends videos for you according to your watch and search history. If you don’t like them, you can reset or remove YouTube recommendations. This MiniTool post will show you how to turn off YouTube recommendations.

Do You Want to Turn off YouTube Recommendations?

YouTube is the world-famous video streaming service. You can use it to create a YouTube account, set one or more YouTube channels, and then share videos. You can also watch videos that are uploaded by other YouTube users.

When you watch YouTube videos, you may note that there are always videos recommendations. Some of you may be worried: is there someone spying on me? Indeed, it is a service from YouTube.

YouTube can recommend some videos for you according to your settings and watch history. Some of you like this feature since it can show them highly-correlated videos. While, some of you want to turn off YouTube recommendations for some reason like privacy leakage.

If you want to disable YouTube recommendations, you can try these things:

In the following parts, we will show you how to do these jobs to turn off YouTube suggestions.

How to Delete Your YouTube Search History?

As mentioned above, the YouTube recommendations are from your YouTube search history and watch history. Thus, you can delete both search history and watch history to reset YouTube recommendations.

How to reset YouTube recommendations via clearing YouTube search history? You can follow these steps:

1. Go to the YouTube website and sign in to YouTube.

2. Click your user account picture that is on the top-right side of the interface.

3. A long menu will pop up. Then, you need to select Your data in YouTube from that menu to continue.

4. Scroll down to the YouTube controls section and click Manage your YouTube Search History under the YouTube Search History

click Manage your YouTube Search History

5. Click Delete activity by.

6. Click All time.

click All time

7. Click Delete.

click Delete

8. Click Got it to close the window.

You may say you don’t want to delete all the YouTube search history every time you open YouTube. It is annoying. So, you can also choose to disable the YouTube Search History option permanently.

You need to go back to the Your Data In YouTube hub and then scroll down to YouTube Search History. You will find that the button for YouTube Search History is ON. You need to manually turn it off.

How to Delete Your YouTube Watch History?

The way to delete YouTube watch history is just as simple as deleting search history. After signing in your YouTube, you can follow these steps to do the job:

  1. Click your user account picture.
  2. Select Your data in YouTube from the pop-out menu.
  3. Scroll down to the YouTube controls section and click Manage your YouTube Watch History under the YouTube Watch History
  4. Click Delete activity by.
  5. Click All time.
  6. Click Delete.
  7. Click Got it to close the window.

You can also disable the YouTube Watch History option permanently. Please go to Your Data In YouTube hub > YouTube Search History, and then turn off the button for YouTube Search History.

After resetting YouTube recommendations, you may discover that YouTube still recommends videos for you. Why? This is because this feature just comes with YouTube. Unless you don’t use YouTube, you can’t avoid this issue.

Moreover, if you don’t mind, you can install an extension for your web browser to remove YouTube recommendations.

Install Web Browser Extension

You need to use different extensions for different web browsers. Here, we will show you some extensions for commonly used web browsers:

You can search for these extensions by yourself and then decide to download them or not.

  • Linkedin
  • Reddit